It’s everything – 1986

As I lay here upon the grass
My tears they won’t stop coming
Like the raindrops falling from the sky
Upon where my pen is flowing

I’m not sure why I am writing
My mind it is not here
It’s running through a poppy field
It’s laughing and dancing without a care

It’s walking through a gallery
It’s at an opera in the park
It’s holding tight a loved one
It’s making love till it gets dark

It’s dancing in the moonlight
It’s eating ice-cream by the sea
It’s on a blanket made of daisys
As far as the eye can see

It’s breathing in the fresh clean air
It’s running through fallen leaves
It’s reading poetry from a book
It’s picking blossom from the trees

The rain has stopped, it’s wet and cold
It’s time to head on home
It’s sad cos outside I am free
At home, I’m all alone

5 thoughts on “It’s everything – 1986

  1. You are phenomenal. I hope you know that. I am a fan and a champion of your causes, whatever that may be. And though I am a stranger, I hope that counts for something on your darkest days. Even on the days you feel you’re alone, you are sharing that lonely piece of sky with someone else.

    Like

Feel free to comment

