A Smile

A smile can show you’re happy
And the joy that you are feeling
A smile can be so many things
But it can also be deceiving

It hides that you are worried
Or too frightened to go home
When you feel you are not worthy
And deserve to be alone

It masks anxiety that you feel
As you pass people in the street
To make eye contact unnerves you
So you stare down at your feet

We use our smile so often
When people ask “how are you”
They don’t wait for an answer
And they haven’t got a clue

I wear mine most everyday
To stop myself from crying
And I’ve got very good at it
People say I’m always smiling

16 thoughts on “A Smile

  1. I wear mine most everyday
    To stop myself from crying
    And I’ve got very good at it
    People say I’m always smiling

    Its amazing how true this is about me. A smile is the best mask ever devised.

    Like

  2. I cant help but feel how accurate this is in description to my life and I’d like to share a couple of instances where it holds true.

    My father lives in a world wherein he expects everything to remain picture perfect. Growing up he expected me to smile at all times as this was how any normal person should appear to him. On days where I was sick or on bad days (which more or else seemed to be every other day), he’d comment on the fact that I didn’t look nice because I wasn’t smiling like how he was accustomed to seeing me. This can probably give you a glimpse into how my life was.

    At 18 I entered Medical School. I spent 6 and half years there and got out when I was 24. I made “friends”. I met people and people met me. Towards the end, we all got to signing autographs in our year books. I couldn’t find any person who didn’t write – “Always smiling” inside, save for my best friend. I couldn’t help but reflect on how superficial it felt. Almost as if they all decided to write the same thing.

    “It masks anxiety that you feel
    As you pass people in the street
    To make eye contact unnerves you
    So you stare down at your feet

    We use our smile so often
    When people ask “how are you”
    They don’t wait for an answer
    And they haven’t got a clue”

    They really don’t wait around. Then there are the rare ones who do and they are just the ones who stick around.

    Like

    • I’d like to thankyou for taking so much of your time to read my poetry although it saddens me that you can relate to so much of it.
      My poems are about my life, a diary of sorts and I started to share it because I wanted others to know that they are not alone.
      So many people walk with a smile so as to hide the truth from friends or relatives which I think is rather sad as all it can take to make someone feel better is a listening ear.
      I hope that things are better for you and I wish you all the luck in the world.
      If you ever want to get things off your chest or just have a rant then feel free to e-mail me anytime 🙂

      Like

      • I’m glad that you decided to share them. Your poems flow with a purity of its own, effortlessly and with a beautiful sadness.
        In all honesty, although it is not desirable that there are so many of us who go through so much of the same everyday, it helps alleviate so much of the inner turmoil we go through. I agree about knowing that there is someone else, there are others who can be your listening ear and who can share what you share. It might not be the best thing to have to share , to speak of on common grounds but it definitely is worth having that mutual understanding in comparison to no understanding at all.

        There are days when things happen to go well. That is when I feel like it was the good wishes and blessings from the caring souls that shone through. For that I am grateful for having met you and wish you the very best and much more as well (:

        Like

Feel free to comment

