Bruises will fade

Be still now please my painful heart
There is no need to mourn
It’s through pain, hate and rejection
That your strength will be reborn

Bones will always mend in time
And bruises they will fade
And what he did against my will
Those memories will fade

An eye for an eye I don’t want or need
It will only make everyone blind
I refuse to become tarnished just like him
By the hate, cruelty and lies

So I will not look to seek revenge
For what you took from me
As love and hope and kindness
Still live inside of me

20 thoughts on “Bruises will fade

  1. Your courage in sharing strengthens me to do the same…still contemplating and unsure as usual. I really enjoy your writing, its so real and I can relate to it. Am new to blogging…hoping we could be good friends. Am a Nigerian life here is totally different from what you have over there, but in your writing I see that we’re not so different. I just feel like you understand, I may be wrong. Hope am not bothering you if I am then I apologise. I have lots to say but I should probably stop now…

    Like

    • Yes, Nigeria is very different from the UK but unfortunately Ben depression does not discriminate. It affects everyone no matter where we are in the world.
      I’m happy that you enjoy my writing and hope that it brings you comfort in some way.
      In the UK, depression affects every one in three people so I am glad that by reading my poems you realise that you are not alone in feeling like this.
      I do understand and you are not bothering me.

      Take care, keep smiling and have a great day.

      Like

Feel free to comment

