But yet my heart beats still – 1998

One day you asked me on a date
Like an idiot I took the bait
I was young and blinded by your hate
But yet my heart beats still

I know that I should have declined
I must have been out of my mind
Rose tinted glasses made me blind
But yet my heart beats still

You made me wish that i was dead
I knew that worse times were ahead
You punished me until I bled
But yet my heart beats still

You took my friends away from me
Said I can’t see my family
Told me that I’d never be free
But yet my heart beats still

You said my place was in the home
Never let me out while on my own
Never did I feel so alone
But yet my heart beats still

Years later now and it is just me
I’m on my own, no family
But that’s ok cos I am free
And I’m glad my heart beats still

42 thoughts on “But yet my heart beats still – 1998

  1. Wow. Although I’m fully aware that I am not alone in my struggle with the past, it’s still validating to see others express it. I broke free after 15 years and I wonder how my heart “beats still” almost everyday. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    • It’s sad that so many people relate to my poems but as you said, it is also validating to know that we are not alone.
      Thankyou for stopping by and sharing a little of yourself with me. I wish you all the best in whatever you do 🙂

      Like

      • Thank you so much. I cherish everyday now. Anything I do is a simple pleasure. It’s funny I even enjoy running errands since I was not allowed to for so long. Sadly, just like you, there is still a wedge between myself and my family. But I have friends who support and love me now!!! They are my new family. ♡

        Like

        • That’s fantastic. Good for you.
          was the same. I was like a little kid the first time I went out alone. So exciting but at the same time scary cos I was worried that I wouldn’t find my way home again haha.
          Glad you’re getting your life back albeit slowly and that you have support. from friends.
          🙂 🙂 🙂

          Like

  2. I hope everything is okay. We have not seen any posts from you lately. Hopefully you are fine and just working on other things. I just wanted to let you know I noticed and thought about how you might be doing.
    The poetry is always brilliant.
    Blessings,
    Annie

    Like

    • Hi Annie, I’m fine thanks hun. I posted a few before Christmas but have been a little busy. Also, some of the poems I’ve been writing of late have been a little sad so decided against posting them. Thankyou for noticing my absence. That’s so nice xxx

      Like

Feel free to comment

