Thoughts of an addict

His mother struggles everyday
To watch him throw his life away
Beautiful boy, now gone astray
Says he don’t need her help

Don’t you tell me what to do
I’ll do whatever I want to
Just back off you ain’t got a clue
And I don’t want your help

Oh, can I sleep here again tonight?
And then I’ll get out of your sight
And you can lend me money… right?
Well, that’s if you wanna help

Cos you don’t matter anymore
As long as I can go and score
You can give it all and I’ll still want more
So there’s no point to your help

What? Do you think this is fun?
Look what you’re doing to your mum
You keep this up then we are done
Unless you get some help

Listen Dad, it’s a disease
And while it never lets me sleep
Just one more hit puts me at ease
That is all that’s gonna help

I’ll tell you want you want to hear
If it means that I can get more gear
So stop your nagging, don’t interfere
I will never need your help

I’ll sell my belongings if I need to
It’s got nothing to do with you
And I will steal if I have to
So you can go and stuff your help

He’s high again, there’s a surprise
Can’t tell his truth from all his lies
His dad despairs his mother cries
Desperate to get him help

I’m lost dad, look behind my eyes
I am many forms and shapes and size
Full of deceit, denial and lies
So how are you gonna help?

I know I promised over and over again
That I’d stop just to relieve your pain
But I can see your doubts remain
So yes, maybe I need your help

Trust me dad I want to quit
But can I have just one more hit?
Then I promise I’ll be done with it
Then I will get some help

I don’t like my life or this disease
And I want to put your mind at ease
Take me to rehab would you? Please
I could really use your help

I’m sorry for neglecting you
After everything you tried to do
I hate all that I put you through
And I can see that I need help

Here at rehab I feel so sad
Thinking of all I’ve lost and all I had
Loved ones and friends I treated bad
But it’s good that I’m getting help

I love you Dad, I love you Mum
So much for all that you have done
I’ll come out of here your loving son
And I’m so grateful for your help

69 thoughts on “Thoughts of an addict

  1. I can feel the torment in your poem that this poor family is going through so lovely to see how things can change when help is accepted , a lovely uplifting poem of hope for any one suffering in this way.

    Wishing you Happy Days. Kathy.

    Like

    • Yes, it is very sad but thankfully, now, it has a very promising ending 🙂

      It was my pleasure to follow you. I had a quick look through the photography and paintings as I’m a bit busy today but I’ll be back to take a better look later tonight.
      Take care x

      Like

Feel free to comment

